Contractions at 24 weeks? Scared . . . - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 09-26-2005, 11:52 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi Mamas, I'm hoping someone can offer me a little advice.

I'm 24 weeks along today, and I've periodically had some Braxton-Hicks contractions in the past few weeks. This morning, however, I started getting some kind of intense contractions. Not enough to really hurt, but enough that my back and lower abdomen felt realy crampy. They were coming one after the other, though somewhat irregularly. I called the L/D dept. of the hospital and the nursee I spoke to advised drinking lots of water and staying off my feet.

Here's the thing: I'm still feeling crampy and although the contractions are very infrequent now (within the normal 4 or so per hour), I'm nervous. I'm still nursing my 18 month old dd, but I'm no longer producing anything but the tiniest drops of milk. She only nurses a couple times a day, yet I'm now afraid that her nursing could be stimulating contractions. Should I stop nursing? And how much should I stay off my feet?

I have an appointment with my midwife (who oversees my care and delivered my first dc) on Thursday--assuming I don't have another episode, should I just go about my normal business until then?

Thanks!

Wife to a wonderful dh and mom to four beautiful kiddos, dd (3/04):, ds1 (1/06), ds2 (10/08), and ds3 (7/10)
#2 of 7 Old 09-27-2005, 12:32 AM

That happened to me, too. I'm 36 weeks now and still pregnant. I'd keep nursing unless there's a clear correlation and the contractions are causing your cervix to change. But definitley try to arrange for a few quiet days and do drink more water than you can possibly believe you're drinking. You might also try taking magnesium and red raspberry leaf. Both have helped tremendously to calm my contractions since about that same point in pregnancy.

Hang in there!
#3 of 7 Old 09-27-2005, 01:34 AM - Thread Starter