What are you looking for in a childbirth class? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 01-22-2006, 07:15 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am currently a Bradley teacher who is strongly thinking about giving up my accreditation to teach independently. I really do not want this thread to get into a debate about one particular method over another but I am wondering what you are looking for in a childbirth education class. For example:

•How long would you like it last (in terms of weeks)?
•What information would you like covered?
•What information would you prefer not covering in class?
•Is an informational web site, serving as a resource for the class, important to you?
•Would you find a binder of articles and studies to be a useful resource for you?
•Is the class location important (in or out of a hospital setting)
•Would you prefer an instructor who is accredited with a particular method?
•What would you be willing to pay for your “perfect” childbirth class?

Thank you for all of your time in answering these questions.
MS
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 6 Old 01-22-2006, 10:13 PM

Well, I won't be taking a class this time. Took Bradley last time, and it worked for us. But, I took it simply because my OB (who is amazing; I adore him) said it was the one to take if I was planning a natural birth. I didn't do research or anything.

-I think eight weeks would be good. Time enough to bond, reiterate important facts, etc.