desperate insomnia.... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 02-12-2003, 06:34 AM - Thread Starter
KFH

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have been pregnant since October, and have had insomnia since...October. I've complained at each midwife visit, and after trying realaxation, and other seemingly natural methods to combat it, to no avail. The midwife, this time, did say that Tylenol PM was ok to take while pregnant. Now I wouldn't normally take it when not pregnant, but I'm desperate. She said try it for several days and "see if it gets you back on track." Well, I did it for a week, and stopped. It worked, but left me kind of groggy for the first half of the day. I'm back in the same boat again. Waking up anywhere from 1-3 am and staying awake. Any suggestions? I've read different things about the safety of valerian in pregnancy, anyone know about that? (I have no experience with it when not pregnant either-usually don't have insomnia!)

Help!

Oh, and I have been taking, on a suggestion, a calcium/magnesium supplement for about a month, to no avail.
#2 of 6 Old 02-12-2003, 07:56 PM

I can't say that I have insomnia, but I'm certainly not sleeping very soundly. My midwife suggested eating something with protien right before bed and keeping a snack next to the bed for when I wake up. I have found that I do sleep a bit better when I do this even if it's just a couple bites of ice cream or cheese. She suggested trying power bars or something of that sort. Good luck!
#3 of 6 Old 02-20-2003, 03:33 AM

When I was pregnant with my first baby, I was so excited that I couldn't fall sleep easily. I drank chamomile tea every night before going to bed. It really helped me sleep. Very time I feel a ittle ansy I drink it and helps me relax.
Also, I once learned in one of those nightly news shows that working in the computer before going to bed was a bad idea.