Treating cold w/ Echinacea while pregnant - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 01-23-2007, 05:56 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
In the past, when I've felt a head cold coming on I attack it with Echinacea root tea, zinc tablets and emergen-C (vitamin C packs) at the very first hint. This morning I awoke with that nasty feeling in my nose, throat and ears. : I am about 39 weeks pregnant.

I feel OK about the zinc and a vitamin C tab (doesn't contain as much as the emergen-C). But I don't know about Echinacea root tea. Any body have info, experience using this during pregnancy? Does it really matter this late in the game? I haven't found much info on it at all while researching today.

Thanks in advance!

Peace,
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 6 Old 01-23-2007, 06:24 PM

I am not an expert, but from what I have read, you should be ok. Considering you are 39 weeks, I would think you being sick without energy would be the worse situation. However, that being said, the only effects I have read about is that it may cause uterine contractions that could stimulate labor. This was from a small research study and implies that more research needed to be done before results were absolutely conclusive. Otherwise there are no known adverse effects that I have come across.

Hope that help some!!

Healing Vibes Coming Your Way~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~>

natural living, cloth diapering, babywearing, intactalactivist mama to 2 beautiful boys both born at homehomebirth.jpg ~ ds1 July 8,2007 and ds2 born December 31,2009 and loving my awesome dh!! mdcblog5.gif
#3 of 6 Old 01-23-2007, 09:49 PM

As far as I know, echinacea is fine, but goldenseal (which is often paired with echinacea) is not. Hope you feel better soon!
#4 of 6 Old 01-23-2007, 10:44 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)