Mothering Forum banner

did you/will you give birth without taking a childbirth class?

860 views 15 replies 15 participants last post by  Pynki 
#1 ·
Just curious...if you have, how was the birth?
And, did your doctor or midwife have an opinion on your decision?
This is my second child, but I feel like it's my first time to go through a normal birth--my last was highly intervenous. I feel like I should probably take a class because a) birthing center "requires" it and b) i don't want to go into it blindly. But, then again, a) i don't think i'd be going into it blindly--I read a lot, talk to other women, etc, and b) the thought of classes and subscribing to a particular philosophy is starting to annoy me--I don't know how to explain it. Plus, who is supposed to watch my child during 12 bradley classes or whatever?

Sorry if me talking about childbirth classes all the time is getting annoying...just on my mind a lot and i don't have anyone to ask about it irl.

#2 ·
I haven't had my little one yet, but thought I would throw my two cents (or more) in... I'm in much the same boat as you- pregnant with #2 and looking to do my first natural birth. I thought a lot about taking childbirth classes this time around, and thought about Bradley and Hypnobirthing, but there were several things that stood in my way. First was that dh works afternoons and evenings, and couldn't attend with me. Second was like you said- I really didn't like the idea of having to get a sitter once a week for twelve weeks to take a Bradley class, or others. And the third issue for us was money- the classes seemed really expensive at a time when there was no extra money in our budget.