I think i just ate bad cheese... what should i do?? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 07-22-2007, 08:20 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm about 5 months pg. All my books say avoid things that may have listeria, but they don't say what will happen. Is there anything i can do now? I ate a slice of pizza that had ricotta on it & only realised after i ate it that it smelled a bit off. It wasn't really awful smelling, but it certainly wasn't fresh.
What should i do now?
#2 of 8 Old 07-22-2007, 12:15 PM

I am NOT an expert, but I would guess that you'll be fine. I would drink a lot of water, make sure I took my vitamins, and try not to worry. If you start to feel sick, call your dr or midwife. (Or call now, just for reassurance, if you want.)

I ate some quiche that had been sitting out for several hours last weekend, even though I knew I "shouldn't." I just couldn't resist. All was fine. Our immune systems are geared up for pregnancy and I bet they're able to protect us from a lot of stuff.
#3 of 8 Old 07-22-2007, 01:09 PM

I wouldn't worry.

The ricotta was cooked with the pizza wasn't it?

My first I followed the dos and dont for eating.

Second, third and fourth I didn't. I just focused on keeping my body healthy. If its healthy it will fight off bugs well.
#4 of 8 Old 07-22-2007, 06:21 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by pishajane View Post
What should i do now?
You should relax. I'm sure everything will be fine.

knit.gifWife to Ageek.gif since 7-7-2006, Mother to Mnocirc.gif since 11-23-2007ribboncesarean.gif, and N slinggirl.gifborn on 4-9-2010vbac.gif
#5 of 8 Old 07-22-2007, 08:33 PM

I would relax, pregnancy "food rules" vary all over the world. Pregnant women eat raw fish in Japan. I seriously doubt in France they tell them to stop eating soft cheese. And if you think about what cheese is, it's all milk gone bad anyway.