Insurance and homebirth? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 01-03-2009, 12:49 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am pretty lost lol.

I am currently at the same practice (hospital) that I had DS, DH still needs some convincing for homebirth, I think a lot of it has to do with money...the rest with safety and mess lol. I'm fine there, my birth went fine with DS...but, my labor was REALLY LONG and I think ultimately I would have been more comfortable at home, I've also witnessed 8 homebirths between siblings and friends, and the only hospital birth I've seen is mine and my son's lol...so, homebirth is really what I feel comfortable and accustomed to.

On to my question...how does it work with insurance etc? I have a relatively obscure one, and I feel pretty certain that any midwife I choose will be out of network, and DH will never agree to the extra cost with that. Does it make a difference (with insurance) if I use a DEM/CPM vs CNM? I do have the option of either in my area--but have a CPM about 15mins away which would be great! (also, I felt pretty taken back by the contact I've had thus far with the CNM--I'm not sure it's the best fit personality wise).

I'm also curious about he legal aspects...I live in MD, very close to PA, WV and VA.
#2 of 5 Old 01-03-2009, 10:57 PM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
It really depends on your insurance. My insurance covers 100%, but by law they have to cover liscenced midwives in my state. It does vary state to state. Best thing to do is see if you can find anyone who has homebirthed who has your insurance and see how they handled it. You can also ask prospective midwives if they've dealt with your insurance and you can try to call and talk to your insurance, but that's usually not so helpful.

Happily married to my dh, mama to ds1 (01/2005), ds2 (07/2007)  and dd (07/2009).
#3 of 5 Old 01-04-2009, 07:46 PM