When to have first ped visit after HB? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 23 Old 01-18-2010, 07:48 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
We are planning our first HB in March and my midwives keep asking if I have chosen a pediatrician. I have been interviewing them to find those okay with HB / alt vac schedule. One of the things I have been running in to is that since the baby won't be born in hospital they want me to come into the office with 24 hours of birth so they can check on the baby. This seems a bit extreme to me, and I certainly don't think I will be ready to do this, especially since the midwives will be coming by. But hey, I've never done this before and know that I won't know if baby seems "normal" or not and might get a bit freaked out (or maybe not, I just have no idea). There isn't anyone is our area who accepts insurance and does house calls, so that is out.

How long did you wait to go to the pediatrician after your HB? What's your plan? Any suggestions? Thanks everyone.
#2 of 23 Old 01-18-2010, 08:22 AM

I really don't remember when or if I did bring her in, but I think around 2 weeks is usually the standard time. Of course, you don't have to bring her in at all if you don't want to. Do you have postpartum visits from your MW? Most are satisfied with the MW checking on baby at the PP visits.

And yeah, within 24 hours of birth is crazy. I'd never do that.

#3 of 23 Old 01-18-2010, 10:11 AM
CEG

CNMs are certified to provide well newborn care up to six weeks. I don't know the rules but I am sure the CM/CPMs are more than qualified to do the same. Tell the ped that the midwife does a well-baby check at 24 hours or whatever and you will come in later. You can even tell the Ped you will bring in the records from the baby's visits.