Hashimoto's and pregnancy and birth... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 04-13-2010, 07:56 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am trying to prepare myself for the decisions that will be coming in my pregnancy. I am around 12 weeks pregnant with my 6th child (9th pregnancy) and I have just been diagnosed with thyroid issues... namely Hashimoto's. I have had one hospital birth (my oldest child who is now 12), and four homebirths, two of which were unattended. Our 4th child was supposed to be a midwife attended birth but he beat her to the party. Our youngest who is now 4.5yo was a hospital transfer of an unattended (planned that way) and he stayed in the NICU for 13 days, his life was not in danger but they were pretty happy to have us and wouldn't let us go for that long. I am a very pro- homebirther, in almost any other circumstance than the one I am in I would not even really consider the hospital. I am trying to figure out what our plans will be for the birth, we are currently seeing a CNM who is very supportive of hb, she does not attend the birth but is happily the backup for any issues that may come up or transport to the local (very small not very high tech hospital).
This is our issue, I have a pretty serious medical issue going on right now, my Hashimoto's has me in hyperthyroid right now and even if we get it under control there will be the risk of thyroid storm during labor, my mw and my primary care doc ( a homeopath who is very laid back, in 10 years I have never seen him stress, not even when our son was in the NICU) are both worried about the risk to me if I have a storm. I am concerned about the risk to me (and the baby) if I were to have a thyroid storm, though I am coming to terms that I would be more worried about me, this is selfish but I have 5 other kids and a husband with whom I would love to grow old with.