"Birth is very dangerous process...." sigh - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 05-04-2002, 02:54 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm a student at a university and there I take a developmental psych class. To my dismay, the class was extremely one-sided. But what boiled my blood the most was the lecture on birthing. Our young grad student teacher (who has never had kids--though I shouldn't talk) stood up in front of our auditorium classroom and extolled the dangers of childbirth. She explained in gory detail everything and anything that could go wrong. She ranted about epistiotomies (sp?) in such a way that made them sound like a necessary part of birth. She explained that "you don't want to tear, so the doctors cut you." : She laughed when all the girls in the classroom looked disgusted and whispered that they would never have babies. She praised epidurals up and down. And of course c-sections and how necessary they are. I waited patiently for her to talk about home births, unmedicated hospital births and the wonder and natural aspect of birthing that can make a woman feel liberated and proud of her body. I waited in vain.
Birth is a very dangerous process, she repeated over and over again. Sigh. :mad:

Kylix
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-04-2002, 05:52 PM

Wow. I would complain to the head of the department. And whoever else you can think of. Because not only is she one-sided and biased, she's WRONG. And THAT is what is dangerous.
Old 05-04-2002, 07:01 PM

Yikes! I want to wreite the department head, too! I was a grad asst. teacher while working on one of degrees and I knew a lot of newbies to teaching. It's such a major learning opportunity for them. Some don't even want to teach, but want free education. Others are just in it to feel superior. And a few want to into teaching.