heat for a blow-up pool? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 05-20-2010, 12:02 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi all! I'm new to blow-up birth pools. I had my first two in the hospital and they had industrial water heaters for the tubs. So, my question is...do you rent some kind of heater for a blow-up pool or do you have to keep emptying and refilling? Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-20-2010, 12:30 AM

I think when my last child was born, someone did mention something that they could put in the pool to keep the water heated. We figured we would deal with that need when we got there. We already had the pool inflated and even so by the time dh got around to filling it up, I got to sit in it for 45 minutes before she was born. I did sit in our bath tub while I waited for him to get the pool filled.
Old 05-20-2010, 01:05 AM

My midwife said that generally women in labour want the water barely lukewarm anyway, so a heater isn't normally needed. Although sometimes they do drain some and add some boiling/hot water.
Old 05-20-2010, 12:07 PM - Thread Starter

oof, really? I wanted the water HOT for my first two! Hot tub, hot shower, hot pads, my back labor was excruciating!!! lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by horsecrazy100 View Post
My midwife said that generally women in labour want the water barely lukewarm anyway, so a heater isn't normally needed. Although sometimes they do drain some and add some boiling/hot water.
Old 05-20-2010, 12:23 PM

The blow up pools keep the temperature better than the tubs with the thinner sides because they are well insulated on the side and have less surface area. If the water starts feeling cooler to you all you need to do is to remove a pot or two of water and add a couple pots of hot water to it. We did this and it worked quite well. We had La Bassine.

Heather Mike Married 8/1/99 Mom to Charlotte Aug 04, Nov 06, and Katherine Oct 07
Old 05-20-2010, 02:12 PM