vaginal exam when ready to push REALLY necessary? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 08-15-2010, 12:53 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I prefer hands-off births, but I know a lot of homebirth midwives like to do a vaginal exam when mom feels the urge to push to make sure she's fully dilated and there's not a cervical lip or something. I feel like this is probably unnecessary in most cases, but I'd like some opinions on it. If there was a cervical lip impeding progress, is it something that's likely to spontanteously resolve or become evident fairly quickly, rendering a VE unnecessary without an indication of need for it? FWIW I've had pretty short pushing stages with both my births, 20 min. with my first and maybe 5 with my second. So I would think if I've pushed for 5-6 contractions and baby's not coming, it might be an indication of something holding up progress, but I'm not an expert.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-15-2010, 01:11 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)