Homebirths for mothers 35+ - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 32 Old 01-28-2011, 01:50 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi! I have been reading Mothering magazine for almost 2 years now and I am new to the MDC. I am proud to say that I gave birth at home to my beautiful 15 month old son October 2009. It was an experience that I will treasure. However, i would like to have another child and homebirth. I am 36 years old. As we all know, there are many reports out there about older mothers and pregnancy/birthing complications. Does anyone who had a homebirth at age 35+ have a story they can share?

#2 of 32 Old 02-10-2011, 07:21 PM

I haven't had my homebirth yet, it will be next month.  I am 37 and expecting #2.  From my understanding (very limited), the primary issue with mothers > 35 is chromosomal, namely Downs Syndrome (which is really at greater risk after age 40).  I don't think it would have any effect on labor and delivery - I have never seen maternal age or Downs as high-risk reasons when homebirth would not be recommended.  Eat a healthy diet, exercise and take care of yourself and that will go a long way.

#3 of 32 Old 02-11-2011, 05:18 AM

I'm very much an 'age is just a number' person. I'm in my mid-30s and we are planning an unassisted birth. I think it's ridiculous that a few months makes a difference between whether I am considered 'low-risk' or 'advanced maternal age'. I think lifestyle is way more important than age -- diet, exercise level, stress level, emotional stability, health history, health of previous pregnancies,  and so on.

I think you'll be just fine smile.gif

Christ-centered loving wife & mama to 2 miracles! One & one . We live simply and mindfully. Expecting another blessing Feb 2015
#4 of 32 Old 02-11-2011, 07:18 AM