Natural births "gone awry" - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 16 Old 04-24-2012, 04:43 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I’m a Masters student collecting information for my thesis project on midwifery care and natural birth, and to aid my research I would like to start a discussion about “failed” natural birth experiences. From reading social networking sites and forums, I’ve found quite a few women expressing their difficulty in coping with natural births “gone awry.” By this I mean, women who deviate from their original natural birth plans, but who still give birth to a healthy baby in the end.

Consider the following scenario: Imagine you have been planning a natural birth for months. You have a midwife, you’ve read books, you’ve chatted with other natural birthers online, you feel empowered and prepared for your natural birth. But during labor, for whatever reason (pain, emergency, etc.), you are advised to/decide to make changes to your original birth plan. This could mean allowing for tests to be run, taking pain medication/epidural, transporting to a hospital if you were planning a home birth, allowing for the use of medical tools, requiring a C-section etc. Because of unplanned interventions, you realize that you can no longer have your ideal, non-medicated birth.

Has something similar happened to you? How did you feel about your experience afterwards? How did it affect the way you see yourself; your body? Did it affect your bond with your child? Did your midwife have an influence in your decisions? Was she supportive or reluctant? 

If this hasn’t happened to you, how do you think you'd feel if you didn't get the dream natural birth that you'd planned for? Would you be disappointed in yourself, or would you feel OK knowing that you still gave birth to a healthy child?