When I did my CPM training at MLL in El Paso (7 years ago, I've been at home with the kids ever since, so not terribly up on changes to legislature), we considered full term to be 36 weeks, even a day before and we would have to transfer care. I know we had to play very by the book or we would lose the only doctor back-up we had available for the center.
So it was with surprise that I heard from my midwife here in Houston that 37 weeks is the state law. I know state by state varies (and of course some midwives may not choose to follow the state law, ie; may feel more comfortable not birthing at home that early) but I'm having trouble finding online what's "on the books" as legal for attending homebirth in the state of Texas.
Can anyone clear this up for me?
The short version is that the rules have been somewhat fuzzy on 36 vs 37 weeks, but in the upcoming rule revision one of the changes is to clarify that 37 weeks is the lower limit.
Info about rules revision:
|Direct Entry Midwife , Midwifery Programs , Midwives|
|58 members and 10,067 guests|
|abelitz , amma_mama , AshleyCor , bluefaery , cocoheart , Crimson8 , dahlia810 , Dawn's mom , Deborah , emmy526 , EMRguy , EmsMom , farmermomma , FloridaBorn , greenemami , healthy momma , jelymead , joandsarah77 , junipermuse , kateaton , katelove , kathymuggle , lilmissgiggles , LiLStar , mama24-7 , mamabear0314 , mamaprovides , marmy , MDoc , MeepyCat , Milk8shake , Mirzam , Mylie , mystiquesmom , Natalie12 , NaturallyKait , Poddi , primalmom , rachieface , SandiMae , sarafl , Serafina33 , shantimama , sillysapling , Snydley , sofreshsoclean , Soseraphina , Sphinxy , SplashingPuddle , Springshowers , thinkingmom , Tigerle , tommygirl , TrishWSU|
|Most users ever online was 449,755, 06-25-2014 at 12:21 PM.|