Anyone decide to birth in the hospital voluntarily after planning home birth? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 04-18-2013, 07:39 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
This is somewhat cross-posted from my DDC, but I'm looking for mamas that may have switched gears from home birth to hospital birth (without any medical reason to do so). 

I'm an OB nurse, pregnant with #2 (17 weeks).  I confidently gave birth at home 4 years ago, and have been present at several home births as well as (obviously) thousands of hospital births of all sorts within the last 10 years.  Since my first birthing, we've moved to an area with very little home birth midwifery care, and no hospital-based CNM care. I've been planning for a home birth with a CPM who lives 2.5 hours away from us. I've been present at a birth she attended, and she handled a difficult shoulder dystocia very well. She is experienced, having been a midwife for almost 25 years.  She has a good reputation with the clients of hers I've spoken with. She doesn't have an assistant, an apprentice, or a backup midwife.  I'm also getting tandem care from one of the OBs that I work with, mainly because I want to be known to them in case of a transfer, and because I wanted to obtain an anatomy scan to solidify my plans of birth place (e.g. in hospital with NICU if there were a major anatomical issue that would require immediate support).  I'm unsure that I'd continue care beyond the anatomy scan.