What questions did you ask your midwife? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 
 1Likes

Old 06-04-2014, 12:03 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
What questions did you ask your midwife?

My plans to start trying to get pregnant got pushed back some, due to relationship situations, but I'm still in the "information gathering" phase.

I'm a medical professional (an LC) who works closely with mothers and infants, but despite that, I have little to no experience with homebirth midwives, and could very much use input.

I know I have some questions:
-Are you willing to work with a mother on moderate-risk medication, who will be on it her entire pregnancy/nursing?

-What conditions do you transfer to a hospital for?

-How often have you transferred women?

-Are you comfortable advocating for me with family, and helping my husband keep people -away- if they will impede my birth process?

Other than that, though, I honestly don't know what to ask.

So. What did you ask YOUR midwife? Was it useful to know? What do you wish you'd known before?

And, heck, while I'm at it, any good, general advice for a first time wannabe-mama who desperately wants a relatively relaxed homebirth with JUST her husband and midwife present?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-05-2014, 01:11 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Are there any screenings or tests that you require or feel strongly about? What labwork do you recommend and why?

Have you ever lost a mother or baby? If yes, how did it change your practice?

Tell me about your backup coverage.

Midwife (CPM, LDM) and homeschooling mama to:
14yo ds   11yo dd  9yo ds and 7yo ds and 2yo ds  
Old 06-05-2014, 07:49 AM

Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by agentofchaos View Post
My plans to start trying to get pregnant got pushed back some, due to relationship situations, but I'm still in the "information gathering" phase.