unstable lie? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 27 Old 07-29-2009, 10:22 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Yesterday I went for an ultrasound in order to determine baby's position.
I'm at 38.3 weeks. It started off well. Baby looks healthy. Head was down for most of the ultrasound, then he flipped into a transverse position. Doctor recommended an immediate induction and c-section. I'm hoping for a VBAC.

I am told that I have a lot of amniotic fluid and therefore the baby is unstable and flips around a lot. He may not get into optimal position for birth, and even if he does, he may not stay there. Yesterday, when I had the non-stress test down, the nurse commented that the baby's head was down.

I put my foot down and refused induction. Has anyone been through this? Has anyone had a natural childbirth, or VBAC in the incidence of an unstable lie?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 27 Old 07-29-2009, 10:26 AM

OK, I'm not an expert, but even if the baby were to stay in a transverse position, why not wait until labor begins to see if he flips head down before jumping into a repeat c section?

I think you did the right thing .

Leeann, mama to 3*magic*kids: DD 1/03 DD 9/04 DS 8/06
#3 of 27 Old 07-29-2009, 10:35 AM

All babies are in and "unstable lie" lol, they are constantly moving around, flipping etc. They generally do get back into position just before labor begins, sometimes they don't and you just have to learn the positions to get baby to flip the right way... DD was transverse my whole ph and even when labor began, it wasn't until she finally flipped after walking, hip swaying, getting on all fours that labor finally progressed. But I did it by myself at home and that's where she was born, intentionally, she was my first UC and that was an amazing experience! Though that's another story lol...