Seeking advice/advocacy/help with VBA4C or HBA4C - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 01-31-2011, 02:39 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello! I am new to this discussion board but have found most of the posts regarding VBAC very helpful. I haven't found anything pertaining to my specific situation, so here goes.

I have 4 beautiful children with my 5th on the way (34 weeks gestation). All my previous children were C-sections. The first one: an emer. c-section for "failure to progress" (more or less), subsequent children ERC's because hospitals had VBAC bans and I wasn't informed of any other options at the time. We are living in a different state now, and I am so happy to be seeing a midwife and staying out of the medical atmosphere. However, due to a recent change in ID law, my midwife cannot deliver my baby without consent from a doctor irked.gif

I am left with a just a few choices: go with a midwife who is not licensed and do a homebirth; possibly birth in a neighboring state at a hotel with the same or a different licensed midwife (still looking into the laws about that); drive to SoCal where my mom lives and have a birth there (husband would not be able to attend bcuz of work); or have another c/s.

Does anyone have any encouragement, advice or ideas that would help me out? I would greatly appreciate it.

Wife, and mommy to 6 kiddos : ds REPlaySkateboard04HL.gif, 6/7/05, emer. cs; angel1.gif 1/06; ds bikenew.gif, 12/5/06, repeat cs; dd blowkiss.gif, 4/28/08, repeat cs; ds flowersforyou.gif, 10/23/09, repeat c/s; ds guitar.gif, 3/25/11, HBA4C; dd energy.gif, 4/28/13, waterbirth.jpg2HBA4C!   IHhbac.gif & vbac.gif
#2 of 9 Old 01-31-2011, 07:25 PM