If you had a VBAC, what was the reason for your c-section? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 52 Old 12-29-2004, 02:43 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I was wondering why anyone who successfully had a VBAC had a c-section with a prior birth?
#2 of 52 Old 12-29-2004, 05:44 AM

I'm no expert, but all of what you were told sounds SO bogus!

My harshness is NOT at you. I want to be tender to you. My harshness is at your (s)care providers and what they did to you and told you.

First off, your pelvis is well padded from the inside with tissues, muscles, and fat. What on earth could have cut her? Was there anything sharp that was near her? Besides the scalpel? No. I highly doubt that a baby could get cut inside the pelvis. Until a scalpel is introduced to the pelvic cavity.

My son has a tiny "divot" in his nose. It had a flake of blood on it. My son was posterior but no one checked for that before opening me up. I am 100% sure they nicked him and decided not to tell me. I have no proof. But I am sure. A friend of mine had a true emergency c/s and just as they cut into the uterus she flipped over (so much for her having no heartbeat) and they cut her face. Had a plastic surgeon in there so fast everyone's head swam. Of course, that was in Canada.

How are they going to check on the size of the future baby? By palpation, my midwife and the OB on call were 2 pounds off. Ultrasound is routinely 2-3 pounds wrong in either direction. Estimating size is not a science. It's guesswork.

Why didn't your midwife send you home when you were only 2.5 cm? That makes me sad.

I can honestly say, in all the labor stories I've read on ICAN, I've never heard of someone saying a baby's head was starting to swell. Especially when the cervix wasn't dilated and you weren't pushing. That sounds bogus too.