Is Cytotec still used for induction? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 54 Old 04-30-2009, 07:11 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am not a birth professional, but soon-to-be new mum. I was having a discussion with a nurse-friend of mine today about Cytotec. I saw a show on tv the other day, where it was used as a cervical ripener/ induction drug. After all I had read about it, I was suprised it is still used, now I am thinking it might have been a really old show, since my friend is pretty sure it is no longer used. So, do any of you know if it is still used? If it is, can anyone provide a balanced argument about why, since it seems to have serious complications. TIA!
#2 of 54 Old 04-30-2009, 07:14 PM

it was four years ago. Ask me how I know.
#3 of 54 Old 04-30-2009, 07:18 PM - Thread Starter

I'm gonna guess that you experienced the not-so-lovely contractions of it?
#4 of 54 Old 04-30-2009, 07:19 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by lisalu100 View Post
I'm gonna guess that you experienced the not-so-lovely contractions of it?
Yep. My doctor said it wasn't "a big deal." Thankfully nothing horrible happened and my baby was born safe and sound.
#5 of 54 Old 04-30-2009, 07:28 PM

Yes, it is still used. I've been present at a birth as a doula where it was presented by the L&D nurse as an option for induction. Fortunately I had discussed Cytotec in advance with my client and she declined it. The nurse made out like it wasn't that big a deal and they used it all the time.

Heather Mike Married 8/1/99 Mom to Charlotte Aug 04, Nov 06, and Katherine Oct 07
#6 of 54 Old 04-30-2009, 08:16 PM

It's been offered and strongly recommended to every single client I've ever had facing an induction at my local hospital. All but one have read the information I've sent them on the drug and declined.

Megan- mama to 3, midwifery student , doula, , runner , knitter .