A bit of a spinoff: When is a C-sec essential? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 99 Old 03-13-2004, 03:25 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
How do you all feel about C-sec's? I'm no expert, that's for sure, but here are my answers:

-prolapsed cord
-extreme maternal distress (i.e. BP, etc)
-maternal injury (spinal nerves, paralysis etc)
-extreme fetal distress (i.e. heart rate etc.)
-Extenuating fetal circumstances (very permature babe, emphalocele, cojoined twins)
-placenta previa
-placental abruption

Correct me (as I'm sure you will ) if any of these are inncorret assumptions.

That's all I could come up with. I agree that lots of these issues could be 'treatment' related in how labour and delivery are managed esp during a hospital birth.

I'd love to hear all of your insights.

P.S. I feel that C-sec's have their place and are a wonderful tool *IF* (big if) they are absolutely essential!!

Mama to Thing 1 and Thing 2.
#2 of 99 Old 03-13-2004, 03:34 PM

i think if YOU feel you needed a c/s.. Then YOU as a person probably did.. Whether it was technically medically neccesary who knows..

My 1st ds was breech.. We had him c/s.. Could i have delivered him vaginally.. Maybe.. I doubt it with the way the other 2 were... (HIgh forcepts and vaccuum extractions) but it's possible.. I would still have a c/s for breech position, but that is MY personal comfort level.. I am very glad, however, to have a VERY pro vback OB.. Who said, "So are we having this baby the right way?" when i cam in pg with our 2nd.. I was scared, but did have the vbac, and am sooo glad i did...

I don't think all the bashing of c/s after the fact that we see alot around here is very useful.. It's done.. You can learn about ways to avoid a c/s again, but NOTHING is a given...

Just my .02..

Warm Squishy Feelings..

Dyan

It's lonely being the only XX in a house of XYs.
#3 of 99 Old 03-13-2004, 03:38 PM - Thread Starter