Placenta Pathology Questions - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 10-25-2010, 05:11 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I received my birth records last week finally and have been poring over them trying to make some sense (I have no medical background).

I have some questions on my placenta pathology report. My placenta was sent to pathology b/c my baby had IUGR. The report says my placenta was 322 grams, and showed the following
*acute chorioamnionitis, stage I
*acute villous ischemic change, focal.
*intervillous hemorrhage, focal, with nucleated red blood cells, consistent with fetomaternal hemorrhage.
*villitis, acute and chronic, multifocal, moderate, with intervillositis
*small for dates placenta, 5th percentile for 38 weeks (I was 38w5d)
*acute and chronic deciduitis

The pathologist's comment says, "If infectious etiology can be excluded, then the diagnosis of villitis of unknown etiology might be considered. However, this diagnosis is usually associated with chronic villitis only, so the presence of acute inflammation would be unusual and favors an infectious etiology."

The report includes other info like color and cord length, etc., but I am guessing the "impressions and comments" are the imp't part.

I googled these terms individually, but not having a med background am having a hard time putting the whole picture together.

Nagging questions I have: is my IUGR likely to repeat again (ie, is it related to some unknown health condition on my part) or was it a fluke, related to some infection I picked up in the late part of my pregnancy?

Can you tell from this report when the infection likely occurred? The IUGR got Dx (or become suspected) at 36 weeks when my fundal height hadn't grown. U/S showed baby in the 5th percentile and his head/abdomen circum. ratio was way off at that point.

Here are some notable issues from the pregnancy (don't know if they're relevant):