How much did you need to move in active labor? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 03-03-2011, 07:38 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Did you mostly feel like staying near the bed/birthing spot? Did you want to walk? Rock? Change positions much?

Just curious. I've been told movement is difficult for most women in active labor--and by that I primarily mean walking, not shifting positions or using a birth ball.

I ask because my doctor says she thinks continuous monitoring during active labor is a good idea. However, I'm a bit confused because the way she described active labor (contractions 2-3 minutes apart, lasting 60 seconds) matches the description here of transition? http://www.suite101.com/content/the-three-stages-of-labor-a19081

Fiction writer by training, writer/editor of anything anyone will hire me for by trade. Me + D=my girls E (4/2011) and little N, 1/2014.

#2 of 13 Old 03-04-2011, 10:02 AM

I think "active labor" is supposed to be from about 4cm to pushing (or whenever things get pretty intense to pushing)... but I could be wrong.

For me -- I definitely wanted to be able to change positions, but I wasn't going for a walk or anything by that point.  I've moved between shower/tub, bed, standing, squatting.  I think that was when I needed to move most.  Lots of rocking, swaying.  I can't imagine having to lay in bed or be hooked to a monitor at that point -- I really feel like that is torture to a laboring woman. 

My HB MW's monitored the baby by doppler every half-hour during active labor and every 5 min during pushing (of course, more often if baby doesn't sound great).  But they are the ones contorting themselves to fit my position, not vice-versa!

Mama to 4 girls    chicken3.gif5/05, 12/07, 9/09, 3/11   winner.jpghomeschool.gifhomebirth.jpg

#3 of 13 Old 03-04-2011, 01:25 PM