Midwife and doula - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 03-21-2011, 06:33 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So for my next birth I'll hopefully have a midwife and homebirth. My question is for my first birth which was in the hospital I had a doula that I loved, I couldn't have done it without her. But I was wondering if I'm having a homebirth with a midwife, would I also need a doula? What would be the reasons for having both?

Memz, with mylove.gif and mommy  of babygirl.gif born 01/17/10 and 3 cat.gif familybed1.gifsaynovax.giffly-by-nursing1.gif

***4** *8***12***16***20***24***28***32***36**stork-boy.gif40

#2 of 6 Old 03-22-2011, 01:03 AM

I'm a home birth midwife and a doula is an excellent addition to the the birth team. The midwife is clinically responsible for the birth; your doula is there for YOU. Plus I'm certain your doula will be THRILLED to have a repeat client. :)

#3 of 6 Old 03-26-2011, 06:02 AM - Thread Starter

I totally agree with you jengacnm. I actually would like to have both, I was actually trying to have good arguments for my DH. He doesn't understand why we should hire both...

Memz, with mylove.gif and mommy  of babygirl.gif born 01/17/10 and 3 cat.gif familybed1.gifsaynovax.giffly-by-nursing1.gif

***4** *8***12***16***20***24***28***32***36**stork-boy.gif40

#4 of 6 Old 03-26-2011, 02:48 PM

For my birth with DS, having a doula would have been totally unnecessary. BUT, my midwife also has an apprentice to assist her (and me, she was great!) and was a doula for many years before becoming a midwife. So I think the comforting aspect of her care may have been greater than some midwives I've heard of here.

However, If you loved your doula, and can afford to have both, I would! You already know that your doula provides the kind of care and comfort you like.