ideas for helping support new (again) mom with early baby!?? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 03-31-2011, 08:00 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

a friend just let me know she is in labor and will likely deliver today or tomorrow, I am 3 years post birth so have forgotten what i wished people did/brought to help me, show love, support me! so I am just looking for anyone's ideas for how to help show love and support.  

she is about 5 wks early, so we'll see if the babe has to be in the nicu and for how long...her first was in the nicu for a month, so any ideas on how to help support that would help as well as I have no experience with early babies!

thanks in advance for your ideas and positive energy!!!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 4 Old 04-01-2011, 09:20 AM

If the baby is 5 weeks early, she's likely looking at 1-2 weeks' NICU stay at the very least -- which can be pretty overwhelming even if you've done it before! 

Ways you can offer support might be:

- offer to babysit her older child so she can spend time with the baby/take a shower/sleep/ whatever

- buy a preemie sized outfit or two that she can put on the baby right away (all the babies in the NICU are always dressed all alike, in hospital gowns and such -- if it were me, I'd want my baby to be wearing her/his own clothes, at least, if it's feasible.) 

- buy her gift certificates for the hospital cafeteria or coffee shop (especially easy if there's a Starbucks there or something -- lots of hospitals do) so she can grab food while she's at the hospital with the baby