Did labor come out of nowhere, or did you have a buildup? (Esp. with your first) - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 19 Old 04-19-2011, 08:17 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm 39 weeks here and anxiously waiting for signs that I might be in labor. Nothing yet! I'm just curious--how much of a buildup did you have? Did you know ahead of time that labor would be soon, or did it just happen suddenly?

Thanks!

Fiction writer by training, writer/editor of anything anyone will hire me for by trade. Me + D=my girls E (4/2011) and little N, 1/2014.

#2 of 19 Old 04-19-2011, 08:21 AM

With both of mine I knew from the first contraction that 'This is it!" I didn't have any BHs that I could feel or prodromal labor, though. They started really comfortable/easy and worked up to painful and intense over time but even the easy ones I did not mistake for false labor or stomach cramping.

Evergreen- Loving my girls Dylan dust.gifage8, Ava energy.gifage 4 and baby Georgia baby.gif (6/3/11).

#3 of 19 Old 04-19-2011, 08:34 AM

With number 1 it came out of nowhere. I was 3 days past my due date and woke up out of a dead sleep to contractions. Number 2 I was induced so who knows how it would have been naturally. Number 3, I lost my mucus plug through out the day, no contractions though. That night my water broke just as I was falling asleep. Hope this helps!

heartbeat.gif Mama to 5 busy bees (12, 9, 6, 3, 2) & 3 angel1.gif
#4 of 19 Old 04-19-2011, 08:42 AM

Oh, I did want to add that is possible to have painless contractions. When the nurse hooked me up to the monitor with baby #2, I was having contrax 3-5 minutes apart and had no idea. I felt absolutely nothing in my belly. All of the variations are so interesting even with the same mama. None of my labors have been similar.

heartbeat.gif Mama to 5 busy bees (12, 9, 6, 3, 2) & 3 angel1.gif
#5 of 19 Old 04-19-2011, 08:54 AM