Would you go to a post birth spa? - Mothering Forums
View Poll Results: Would you pay to go to a post birth spa to rest and recover?
Yes 0 0%
No 17 100.00%
Voters: 17. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 11-28-2011, 05:32 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi everyone!biggrinbounce.gif I am new to mothering.com  and have been trying to conceive again.  With all the reading i have been doing and my past experiences I thought of an idea.  I have been reading in china a woman has a postpartum recovery called "sitting out for a month". I have now have three teenagers and this got me thinking about after they were born.  I am trying to conceive again and know how hard it is to recover and how tired I was after giving birth.  I want to ask other moms and moms to be if you would do this if it were available.  It might be a great service business.  My question is this..  Would you pay 3800 dollars to go to a birth spa for 6 to 7 days after discharge from the hospital?  A  place that is a 4 star retreat- with 24 hour caregivers for you and baby if needed (this way you can sleep/recover while baby is watched); 2 massages; mani-pedi; daily lactation consult; meals made by a dietician; linen changed daily; daily visit for baby by a pediatric doctor; a postpartum RN on call if you need them, and after you get a home from the spa.....  a cleaning service that comes to your house and cleans a week after you get home.  I think this would be a great place if there is one.  What are your thoughts?

#2 of 14 Old 11-29-2011, 10:07 AM

That doesn't sound very child friendly, so for me--- no.  I would want to be with my family.  That sounds great for a couple just having their first baby (though I would want to be left alone more than that), but I can't imagine leaving my older kids for 7-8 days.  I think you would need to be in an area with a lot of wealthier (older?) first time parents to make a go of it.