Can I prevent my water from breaking and do I want to? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 08-30-2012, 12:36 PM - Thread Starter

Location: Where creepy facebook-featured threads can't find me
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)

My water broke prior to labor in my two previous pregnancies and I went into labor about 12-14 hours later. Both babies posterior. Labors, from the very begining, were really rough and intense. From the first contraction I just have more, sort of the way other people describe transition. People talking about timing them or pausing for the contraction to pass and I have no experience with that. Just a freight train.

My last labor was only about two hours and I delivered unplanned and unassisted at home. This birth is a planned homebirth with a midwife.

One of the midwifes I met with mentioned I could prevent my water from breaking with X and I wonder, can I, and how, and do i want to?

Is labor without broken water so much better especially because I assume I will be posterior again? I just seem to build that way.

#2 of 7 Old 08-30-2012, 01:53 PM

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)

I remember there is some nutritional thing one can focus on to help build a strong bag of waters...I'll see what I can find/remember. 

Mama to DD September 2001 and DD April 2011 *Winner for most typos* eat.gif
#3 of 7 Old 08-30-2012, 02:17 PM

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by IdentityCrisisMama View Post

I remember there is some nutritional thing one can focus on to help build a strong bag of waters...I'll see what I can find/remember. 

I did the blue ribbon baby diet recommended by Bradley classes. My waters all broke just when the baby's head was crowning. All three times that I gave birth.
#4 of 7 Old 08-30-2012, 02:31 PM

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)

With my first waters broke before labor started. My second was born in the caul. biggrinbounce.gif