Has this happened to anyone here? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 53 Old 04-06-2007, 05:34 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
On a yahoo group I amon for childbirth educators and doulas we have been talking about interventions. People have brought up some pretty scary stuff, that as a nurse I have yet to witness (not saying that it doesn't happen), so to me it seems so alien... but not just not being given a choice in some interventions but actually being held down for things like an IV, monitoring and getting a cath. Not to mention having an episiotomy or forceps. I have worked at two hospitals were I floated to L&D and I was present for births and NEVER saw a woman held down while she screamed "no" to some procedure (like an IV or a cath). I know that they use scare tactics (which I am completely against) to get women to agree to certian things and I know they don't tell the women everything (like when they will do an episiotomy or put in a foley after the woman has an epideral). I am not saying I am ok with any of that (that is why I have my kids at home.)
But I am wondering how common it is to be held down (in this day and age. I know they use to tie a woman's hands up when she was in labor) and have things forced on her.

H

mama to 6 amazing children joy.gif married to my main man for 21 years love.gif and finally home FULL time dishes.gifhang.gifknit.gif

#2 of 53 Old 04-06-2007, 05:35 PM

yikes! i'm hoping you don't get too many "yes" answers here
#3 of 53 Old 04-06-2007, 05:57 PM

I was a L&D nurse, then a CNM, all for a total of 10 years. I never held anyone down for an IV, nor did I ever see anyone held down. I did see a lot of coercion and incomplete truths told, but I never saw physical force used to make anyone do anything.
#4 of 53 Old 04-06-2007, 11:45 PM

Nothing like IVs, but I've seen/been present with NON emergent c sections, forceps, and vacuum deliveries being done with inadequate anesthesia.