can someone explain "asynclitic?" - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 32 Old 04-19-2007, 12:35 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
i've read it several times but still have no good idea what it means.

thanks.

dissertating wife of Boo, mama of one "mookie" lovin' 2 year old girl! intactlact:: CTA until 7/10 FF 1501dc
#2 of 32 Old 04-19-2007, 12:46 PM

I did a little searching for you (I'm still learning these terms myself!) and I found another thread about a birth that included it.

momnmidwife answered your question like this:
Quote:
"Asynclitic" means instead of the baby entering the pelvis with its head strait and flexed nicely, it is tilted.
#3 of 32 Old 04-19-2007, 02:36 PM

Basically, the head comes down crooked. It causes very long and especially painful labors (usually). Sometimes contractions are really spaced out and irregular, sometimes they are right on top of each other with literally no break for hours and hours. The bad contraction patterns are due to the head not being positioned in a way that dilates the cervix evenly and effectively. My son was asynclitic, and his head was sort of sideways, with his ear on his shoulder. So the side of the head was coming first.
#4 of 32 Old 04-19-2007, 02:54 PM

Yeah, my son was asynclitic. His birth eventually resulted in a C-section, but as a result of the hours spent unproductively jammed up in the birth canal, he had a very amusing (in retrospect) off-center conehead. You could really see the effects of the bad position, because the "cone" was like off to the left side of his head!

Doulakris is right about the painful labor. That was my first labor, and not knowing any better, I thought that all labors were as painful as that. When I went into labor with my daughter, I was like, "Wait, this is it?"
#5 of 32 Old 04-19-2007, 04:41 PM