Mothering Forum banner

Need Some Input and Ideas Please

1K views 9 replies 9 participants last post by  almadianna 
#1 ·
I am a student Interior Designer. I am in my last semester of school
and we are designing a free standing birthing center
for our main project. I would like for you all to give me some input on what you would like in a birthing center.

My inspiration (not theme - 2 different things) right now is spring. It is a time of birth and growth. Blooming flowers signify the body opening to allow the baby to be born.

I would like input on everything from the lighting, mood, art and decor, things you think should be included in a birthing room or center. Anything you can think of. I had both of my babies in a hospital (however my experience w/ ds2 was different because he was born naturally and I had a midwife - who was wonderful) so I do not have experience in a birth center but I have some ideas on things that would be beneficial to the birthing mother. TIA

See less See more
#2 ·
These are the things that I envision the perfect birthing room to be like. However, I've never given birth so take it with a grain of salt. (I am a doula though, so I see what women wish they had in the moment)

-BIG, firm (but comfortable) bed; like a full size. Preggo women HATE those tiny hospital beds. Make sure it is equipped with a squat bar (and a co-sleeper if it is a postpartum room too).
-Soothing, zen-like mood: pale blue, pale green, pale lavender, pale yellow, soft grey walls; any art should be relaxing and simple--an exquisite flower painted in soft colors, ocean, mountain/forest-- nature'y type stuff.
-A rocking chair/glider with cushions and footstool.
-ALL medical apparatus concealed in a pretty cabinet or behind a curtain.
-An easy chair that pulls out into an extra bed for husband or partner.
-Jacuzzi tub large enough for 2 people, with jets and temp control (so it won't get too hot)