UC in a hospital? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 55 Old 02-26-2008, 01:54 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi all, newbie here.

Sorry if this is a crazy/annoying question, but I'd love to hear people's thoughts on a UC in a hospital. Is it possible or is it wishful thinking?

Background: this is baby#2, first experience was "traditional" hospital birth, lots of interventions, basically an experience I'd rather not have again. My fault, I was terrified of labor and delivery (I didn't even call it birth then) and wanted it to just be over. Lots more details, but that's the summary. This time I've decided that several days of horrible pain is better than the 4 months of pp healing, so I'm trying everything possible to have a natural birth. We're taking Bradley classes, I'm reading every book I can, I'd like to take a Birthing from Within class (LOVED the book!!!!), and exploring homebirth.

Our issues: DH is a physician and while he says he'll "support whatever decision" I don't know that either of us is comfortable being away from emergency services "just in case". I've read lots of studies and all the stats and I'm a chemist/engineer so I believe them, but our guts are afraid still I think.

Sooooooo...that's why I was wondering about UC in a hospital. DH is willing to pitbull and create a safe space for me, but basically I'm still at the point where I don't feel safe to birth in any space (except for my running joke that's almost not a joke that I'd like to labor at home, hop in the car as the baby's descending, drive to the hospital and have the baby in the back of the truck in the parking lot, wait an hour or so to make sure everyone's ok, then go back home, lol, but serious to).

Thoughts on all this?
Anna
#2 of 55 Old 02-26-2008, 02:18 PM

you can attempt natural childbirth in a hospy, but no that's not uc.

y not try a hb?

Liz