looking for some reassurance about giving birth - Mothering Forums

looking for some reassurance about giving birth

mamaley's Avatar mamaley (TS)
07:29 PM Liked: 0
#1 of 11
09-24-2003 | Posts: 6,212
I'm due to have my daughter any day now, and this is my first time to even attempt a natural childbirth. I didn't do a childbirth class--tried hypnobabies but, while it was a great course, I didn't practice like I should and there was something about it that I didn't personally like, although I'm sure for most people it's great. I didn't take any other classes. I have read about 10 books on natural childbirth, and I have felt so confident and fearless about this birth.
Now that it could be any day, it just seems so weird to me that I'm actually going to go through this. It will be me, my husband and my midwife in a freestanding birthing center. I plan to just go with the flow during labor, doing whatever it takes to naturally relax my body during contractions.

Anyway, I guess I'm just looking for reassurance that my body actually *can* do this. I guess I shouldn't need reassurance, but oh well.
pamamidwife's Avatar pamamidwife
07:58 PM Liked: 16
#2 of 11
09-24-2003 | Posts: 7,527
First, know that the fact that you are having some nervous feelings is completely natural and shows that you understand the enormous undertaking and sacred journey you are about to embark on....

Your body was built for birth. What is amazing is that our bodies take the amount of pain we experience and create endorphins to help us cope. Women that have natural births often zone out and sleep between contractions - some worry that women are too exhausted to continue. While lack of sleep is one part of it, the greatest part are those endorphins kicking in - allowing her to ground herself and focus inward, resting for the next contraction.