Mothering Forum banner

bright red spotting 3 weeks pp--*update #7*--still spotting at 4 weeks

11K views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  earthie_mama 
#1 ·
x-posted with birth professionals...

from what i read, they say that this is not a huge cause for concern, and this means "one is doing too much and needs to rest more." what i'm curious about is, what is happening physiologically for the spotting to happen? why does this mean one needs to slow down?

some say to see a hcp if the spotting doesn't go away after a day resting. really? how urgent is that? considering i'm feeling fine / normal.

i rested yesterday, but the spotting is still the same.

#2 ·
Well... I'm not a medical professional.

BUT... at 3 weeks pp bright red spotting is pretty normal. What happens is that where the placenta was in the uterus is sort of a "wound" - overdoing it causes this wound to reopen, kind of like knocking a scab off a skinned knee. And sometimes it just reopens without you overdoing it, but yes, in general: take it as a cue that you need to slow down. Personally, I would not be at all concerned if it lasted a couple days or so, unless it was heavy bleeding. It doesn't sound like anything alarming.

Congratulations, BTW!
:

#4 ·
thank you for your responses!

by resting, does it mean bedrest? yesterday i rested, meaning, i didn't go for a walk, but i was still on my feet quite a bit.

i'll try to stay off my feet a bit more today. if the spotting doesn't stop, i will make my case to DH for a full day of rest tomorrow!

#5 ·
You can measure your activity by your bleeding.