birth ball - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 10-16-2003, 04:20 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Anyone use/d a birth ball for labor? I was thinking that it would be a good thing to have around, plus a place to bouce with the baby afterwards. I got one, but it feels too small. According to the descriptions, it should suit my height, but of course, I am not using it for exercise. I believe it is a medium, I want to say 65cm. (I am 5'6") I seem to be sitting very low to the ground when on it.

What do you think?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-16-2003, 05:05 PM

Hi --

I didn't have my ball when I had my son, but I work as a doula and apprentice midwife and use it all the time with clients. Here are some of the things we do with it:

lean over it on hands and knees
toss it in the shower and sit on it instead of a stool
sit on it beside a L&D bed and lean against the bed
deflate it halfway and use it as a squatting support
deflate it halfway and use it as a back support
use it as a chair for partner/doula during labor because it can be rolled out of the way easily and there is often a shortage of places to sit down
rock side to side on it to relieve pain and bring baby down.

Height and weight need to be taken into consideration with the ball size -- for someone 5'6" I would usually recommend a 65 cm or a 75cm. I would guess that you just need to inflate yours a little bit more -- when you are sitting on it your thighs should be parallel the ground.

Good luck!

Stacia -- intrepid mama, midwife, and doula. Changing the world one 'zine at a time.
Old 10-16-2003, 07:12 PM

I am 5'9" and have a 65cm ball that is perfect. Maybe yours isn't blown up enough.
I used mine tons for my last labor - 4 of the 6 hours, even took it in the shower with me - it helped so much!

Keri

Keri wife and Mama to  Cory 17,  Brendan 15,  Kerianne 8,  Avery 7,  Lilia 3
Old 10-16-2003, 07:24 PM