please help! big blister on newborn's inner thigh crease! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 01-17-2009, 04:49 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
We used disposables with my first son, so I'm new to CD. My little guy is 5 days old... and yesterday, I opened up his diaper to find a circle of skin had been taken off just under his cord... it's raw and red there. I think the umbilical cord remnants rubbed him under a wet CPF and pulled the skin off. He was wearing a CPF with a Lite Wrap when it happened.

This morning, I took his diaper off and he had a big blister on his inner thigh. It's pretty big, and looks to be getting worse. It was just an extra layer of skin, now there's pus in it. He was 2 disposables last night.

I gave him naked time this morning, and have been using just a CPF on him with a snappi, so I can tell when he's wet and try to change him right away.

He's such a sleeper that we've only been changing his CPF/wrap every 3-4 hours... could that be causing the blister???

I put some lanolin on it, to try and coat it... will that affect my CPFs? I then put some MotherLove nipple cream on it (with shea butter, beeswax, calendula, and olive oil in it), to provide a barrier... not sure if that will affect the CPF either?

Anyway, I would love any advice about trying to prevent this kind of skin irritation... on a 5-day old, it's so sad.
#2 of 13 Old 01-17-2009, 10:26 PM

Awwww. Poor little one.

What kind of detergent are you using? Is he red anywhere else in the diaper area, or just where those 2 spots were?

Christina, Mama to Salvador (3 yr) & Santiago (6 mo)! www.footprintsbaby.com Life has gotten too busy - Come shop our going out of business sale! Cloth Dipes & more.
#3 of 13 Old 01-17-2009, 11:15 PM - Thread Starter

We're using Biokleen powder detergent. He's not red anywhere else, except those two spots...
#4 of 13 Old 01-17-2009, 11:30 PM