Ammonia smelling prefolds? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 03-06-2004, 03:04 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I know this has been asked so many times before, and I'm sorry, but I couldn't find an answer in the archives.

I just got some new prefolds for DS, and they REEK of ammonia when I change him, doesn't matter how wet he is. I've never had this problem, and I've been using prefolds for 8 months. It's so bad in the morning that it literally knocks my breath away.

When I got the diapers I washed them in 5 hot washes, dried in between each wash. Only used about 2 or 3 tablespoons of regular Gain in the first wash, the other washes were with nothing. They're bleached prefolds, if that matters any, I've always used unbleached before.

So what's my problem? I'm afraid my little man is going to end up with ammonia burns one of these mornings!
#2 of 9 Old 03-06-2004, 03:07 AM
nym

You know, my prefolds are getting like this too. Now I know it is not my washing technique, because my fitteds don't smell. And I have boiled them and stripped them and washed them with BS and vinegar. I just don't know!
#3 of 9 Old 03-06-2004, 03:16 AM - Thread Starter

Forgot to mention, I do know that we have REALLY hard water. I can't even get the deposits out of our coffeepot it's so hard. What cofuses me is why didn't my UBCPFs smell like ammonia?

Though now that I think of it, they did have a slightly "off" smell even after coming out of the dryer....it was more of a really faded poo smell though...
#4 of 9 Old 03-06-2004, 12:49 PM

Try one wash with more soap. It could just not be enough with hard water.
#5 of 9 Old 03-06-2004, 01:47 PM

When any of my stuff stinks, I boil it with baking soda.

#6 of 9 Old 03-06-2004, 01:55 PM