Anyone cloth diaper the old fashioned way? Anyone? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 32 Old 04-30-2010, 04:40 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
I'm new to cloth diapering. I have some pre-folds, as well as a couple cute fitteds. But for diaper covers I only have cheap rubber pants (they seem more like plastic) of the Walmart variety. The rubber pants leave marks on my son's legs. He is 3 months old today and over 17 pounds. I just tried him in size 6-9 months, instead of 3-6 months to see if the size makes a difference. The other thing is that he's a big eater, thus a big wetter. His diapers are soaked in no time. I can't afford to buy all the cute diapers and covers on the market, even second-hand. Yet I hate using disposables for a number of reasons.

Will someone please tell me how to have diapering success the old-fashioned way? Thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 32 Old 04-30-2010, 04:49 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Yes - plenty of people use prefolds & diaper pants. You can be successful! What kind of prefolds are you using? The Gerber ones or ones from Walmart or whatever aren't as absorbant as the diaper service quality (DSQ) ones you'll find at most cloth diapering stores. So if you are using a less absorbant prefold, you might need to use two or add some extra absorbancy with a doubler or even a folded washcloth in there!

As far as the diaper pants, Dappi is a popular brand because they are inexpensive and give a better fit than some other brands. You can get a 2-pack for $5-$6.

I like aplix or snaps wrap style covers simply because of the convenience and they aren't too expensive, especially if you can find them on sale. I like Thirsties Duo Wraps. But you can totally do it with just diaper pants. If you knit or sew you can also make your own wool soakers (like wool diaper pants), that can work wonderfully and breathe really well!