How to wash prefolds - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 9 Old 05-16-2010, 12:20 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm new to cloth diapering and I want to make sure I wash them correctly Do I do a cold rinse first then hot? 1/2 the normal amount of detergent? Extra rinse? Please educate me on this

jog.gifkid.gif

#2 of 9 Old 05-16-2010, 03:45 PM

Everyone has there own wash routine, but what I do is a cold wash with no soap to get the poo and pee out. Then a hot wash with 1/2 the amount you would normally use. Then how washes with no soap as the hot water gets soap build up out better/faster than cold. I do the hot washes with no soap till I see no more suds. And your done, either throw in the drier or hang to dry.

~Katie~ married to J, mom to DD- A 13 yrs ,DS- L 7yrs , and my little nursling DD2- R 5yrs.

crochetsmilie.gif

#3 of 9 Old 05-16-2010, 04:08 PM

I typically hand out the advice to keep it simple unless you run into a problem. I do a cold rinse first to keep stains at bay. Then a hot wash with 2 tbsp of detergent, and a cold rinse. And I'm done.
Once in a while, I'll use 1tbsp of detergent in a short cold wash, followed by a hot wash, and a cold rinse. I use non-sudsing detergent, so I don't do multiple follow-up rinses/washes.
I hang my covers and dry my flats, prefolds, fitteds, and AIOs in the dryer on regular.

Wifey to Hubby, Mama to Boy (2004) and Girl (2009). 
#4 of 9 Old 05-16-2010, 04:23 PM

Are you prepping them or looking for a wash routine?

joy.giflurk.gif

#5 of 9 Old 05-16-2010, 04:50 PM

if they are new prefolds and your getting them ready to "quilt" up I have always ran them thru several hot cycles with a tiny bit of detergent (less than what I would use for a normal CD cycle) It helps strip the fabric of the natural oils and allows them to quilt up nice and fluffy.