Bum genius washing question - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 07-14-2010, 03:42 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
We are starting to use Bum genius. How often do you wash yours? Why do I think every 2 days? Will the world end if I go longer?

Also, I have not been prewashing cold - I have just been washing with hot and then rinsing twice with cold. Is that a bad idea? I just think the 2 washes and extra rinse are too onerous.

mama to Rassa, born 12/9/09
#2 of 7 Old 07-14-2010, 04:37 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I wash all of my diapers together, Kushies AIO, BG pocket, BG AIO, Flip, SweetDoll Baby Pocket, Bummi covers, and some no-name flannel fitteds. I do 1 hot rinse, 1 hot wash, 1 cold rinse and line dry, every 2-3 days although it has on occasion been longer. I use purex hypo-allergenic free and clear. I have been doing this for 6 months and just yesterday stripped my diapers for the first time.
#3 of 7 Old 07-14-2010, 04:39 PM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
i think i have gone longer than two days....I wash them all when I'm running low (I have about 20 BGS, give or take). We keep the dirty dipes right next to the washer (which is in our bathroom) in a hamper lined with a swaddlebees wet bag, and even after two or three days, it doesn't stink. no one has ever said they could smell poo or pee.

As for washing, I do a cold rinse followed by two washes and two rinses on the hot/cold cycle. Yes, it is a lot of washing and rinsing and we haven't received our first water bill since DD was born, but the double wash and rinse is the only way to get the stink out. I also use Charlie's Soap. For the first rinse, I use one scoop, and for the double wash/rinse cycle, I use two scoops. That's what works for me.

I like doing the initial rinse because it gets all the slimy poo out and then you're starting with more stripped down diapers for the next wash, kwim?
#4 of 7 Old 07-14-2010, 04:54 PM - Thread Starter

Quoted: 1 Post(s)