Rate My Stash? (total newbie) - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 08-25-2010, 02:33 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
New to babies and new to cloth, obviously.

I'm more concerned about the newborn and baby stage. We're trying all different kinds and brands to see what we like to buy more of as she grows. I can list the brands we have, but wasn't sure it was needed. We want to avoid laundry every day, so shooting for every other day. Will this accomplish that? TIA for any advice!

One Size- 17 (4 AIO, 6 Pockets, 7 Fitteds)

Small Size- 17 (8 AIO, 3 Fitteds, 6 Pockets)

Newborn Size- 1 (AIO)

Infant Indian Prefolds- 42

Covers- 9 (5 Newborn, 4 Small)

Snappis- 1

I know we need a few more Snappi's. And I have a bid on ebay for 6 Thirsties size One covers. Or is 9 covers ok? We're going to get some cloth wipes, but will probably start off with mostly sposie wipes.

TIA!

Beth- WOHM slinggirl.gif  -Madly in love with my Wife- SAHMhola.gifandbabyf.gifSophia, born 11/2/10, at home! homebirth.jpgExpressing love, one ounce at a time!  1pump.gif

#2 of 12 Old 08-25-2010, 02:48 PM

If you have the money for it, definitely get the covers. I like having as many as I can because it's nice to air the pee ones out b/w uses and there is a good chance newborn poo will get on them very often. 9 covers is definitely okay though.

I think your stash looks good. You might even be able to do laundry every 3 days, although I've found the diapers get the cleanest if I only do a days worth in the washer at at time. I usually do 2-3 loads on the days I do the diapers.

For cloth wipes, you can just buy (or register for) baby washcloths. Our wipes are all homemade flannel. I say for sure use cloth wipes at home, that way everything can just go right in the diaper pail. I do use disposable wipes out and about. Then usually end up washing them...good quality wipes actually hold up well in the washer and dryer.

Mama to three