help for a clueless new mom on biodegradable inserts - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 5 Old 12-31-2010, 11:47 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm new to everything! I'm not even sure where to start with diapering. Originally I thought cloth diapering was going to be the route to go, but after careful consideration (and opposition from childcare) I realized I need to do something else. Thanks to school loans I can't afford to stay home at this time :( but I still want to make the smartest decision for my baby for our current situation. It seems as though using something such as little G diapers with the disposable insert would be best for at home, and Seventh Generation diapers for childcare since they don't want to mess with cloth. The trouble is that I have absolutely no resources for these biodegradable inserts or what brands are the best for this, how to use etc. I've done some research on LIttle G diapers but the reviews don't seem very positive. I've also heard Happy Heineys have a new disposable insert. I don't live in a region that supports anything earth friendly or natural for that matter. If anyone has suggestions for me please help. Thank you!

#2 of 5 Old 12-31-2010, 08:10 PM

I use little G's.  I am trying the disposable inserts for the first time tonight, but I've hear dsome good things.  I really like them.  I do use flats with them during the day rather than the disposable inserts.  I haven't tried 7th gen, but heard they start fitting strange after size 3. 

I can't help you too much other than to say G Pants aren't as bad as some people make them.  They aren't much more expensive than huggies and if your child turns out to be sensitive to PUL (my son is) or you want breathable diapers, these are great.

Good luck with your search.  Maybe you could try a little of each and decide from there.

Mother to a crazy wonderful son born 7-11-09 and A very determined amazing daughter born 5-3-12!