Thought on gDiapers? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 01-04-2011, 03:51 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Do folks have thoughts on gdiapers? They seem like a happy medium between washing all yourself and disposables. I'm pregnant with my first baby, so I have no experience here! I've been trying to sort through all of the many, many overwhelming options so any thoughts would be very welcome/appreciated.

#2 of 6 Old 01-04-2011, 07:19 PM

here's my experience with gDiapers. the disposable inserts rubbed my little girl raw on her privates so I got a couple of drops of blood when I wiped her after using them for half a day. The covers have velcro that wears out within a few months, the snap in liners need to be replaced every few months. and their cloth inserts aren't absorbent enough for my toddler. they also don't fit DD well anymore, they're too tight in the waist and too loose in the legs. It's a great idea, but the specifics need some tweaking. 

Marissa, Partner to J geek.gif, SAHM to A (05/09)fly-by-nursing1.gif and I (03/11)stork-boy.gif. we cd.gif
selectivevax.gifdelayedvax.gifnocirc.giffemalesling.GIFecbaby2.gif part-time and familybed1.gif through infancy. planning ahomebirth.jpg
#3 of 6 Old 01-04-2011, 07:40 PM

We tried them briefly when my son was first born and found that the inserts didn't stay put but bunched up either in the back or front, creating quite a mess and causing us to have to wash the cover every time we changed him. And this was on a fairly stationary newborn. I can't imagine how the inserts would fair on an active baby or toddler. 

My thought is that if you're going to wash covers, you might as well wash inserts, and you can always keep disposables on hand if you're too busy or worn out to wash.

mom to DS born 5/29/09, DS #2 born 5/2/2011, partner to a PhD (finally!), pleased to be co-sleepin', lovin' our 3 cats and 4 dogs and raisin' our LOs vegetarian.