lanolizing and washing wool with Dr Bronner's - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 04-01-2011, 06:42 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Ok so this has been asked, but reading the old threads just left me more confused.

Is it or is it not ok to wash and lanolize wool covers with Dr Bronner's or Sal Suds?

I have a new wool cover, that I would really like to start using.

I've never used wool before.

I do not have any special wool soap.

I do not use baby soap so I don't have any of that either.

We use Dr Bronner or Sal Suds for washing dishes, clothes etc.

So I don't have any other soap and don't want to go out and buy something if I don't have to.

I will however if using what I have is not a good idea.

I would like the wool to last for many many years :)

:
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 8 Old 04-05-2011, 07:02 PM

Though I'm sure it had no impact on the longevity of the soakers I tried to wash/lanolize with Dr. Bronner's, it certainly didn't work very well. Usually I use Eucalan, but had run out. The Dr. Bronner's didn't emulsify the lanolin at all well, and resulted in sticky, kind of squeaky wool, if that makes sense. Kind of like my experiments washing my hair with Dr. Bronner's. When I eventually washed them with Eucalan again, they were good as new. Of course, ymmv.

It occurs to me that I have washed/lanolized soakers using actual shampoo, the kind I use on my hair, and it has worked well. It's a pretty simple shampoo with no fancy ingredients or "cones" (silicone derivatives, which cause buildup). 

Pregnant and/or breastfeeding since May, 2004, with dd6, ds4, and dd born 9/11.
We homeschool.gif.
#3 of 8 Old 04-11-2011, 07:47 PM