Can I use inserts (instead of prefolds) with covers? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 05-21-2011, 02:05 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hi...I'm new to cloth diapering and am just starting to build up a stash of diapers.  I have some prefolds and covers and two pocket diapers.  I'm using prefolds with covers during the day and a pocket (fuzzibunz) stuffed with the insert and a tri-folded prefold at night; however, both of those options seem very bulky.  I was wondering if I could just use one or two diaper inserts (that typically go in pocket diapers) inside a diaper cover, instead of tri-folding a prefold in a cover, to reduce bulk.  Thanks!

#2 of 8 Old 05-21-2011, 02:48 PM

Well, if you're talking about microfiber inserts - those aren't supposed to go against the skin.  If they're cotton or hemp inserts, it's probably fine.  

You can find contour diapers out there that would be in-between having a prefold and insert, so you might want to look at those.  I'm thinking kissaluvs, bumkins, and loveybums make contour diapers - they fit especially well with their covers, but are totally useable with others.

To some degree, cloth diapering is just going to be bulky.  

#3 of 8 Old 05-22-2011, 05:52 AM

Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)

IMO, prefolds and covers are really trim, esp if you use a Snappi.  At night, I'd get some Joey-Bunz (hemp inserts) to use inside your FB to keep them trimmer.

Cloth is almost never going to be quite as trim as a sposie (though you can get pretty close), but that's okay, b/c cloth is better in every way.

DS1 2004 ~ DS2 2005 ~ DD1 2008 ~ DS3 2010 ~ DD2 due Dec. 2014
#4 of 8 Old 05-22-2011, 03:43 PM