Beginner: Tell me how to wash my cloth diapers please. - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 12 Old 06-17-2011, 06:00 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

So I am brand new at cloth diapering and want to know the basics on washing them. You all are pros and I want to know what works for you. I am just starting with the sunbaby pocket diapers so they are micro fleece inner, PUL outer and micro fiber inserts. So how/what do you use to wash them? How do you dry them? And how do you strip them and how do you know when that is necessary? TIA!

Mama to three wonderful girls, H (9-2-04), A (8-23-07), and Q(4-24-11, our Easter baby). Married to D since (6-3-00).

#2 of 12 Old 06-18-2011, 06:50 PM

Okay. I may get shouted down for this-- I cloth diapered awhile ago, before it seems like everybody's wash routines got really complicated. But I did cloth diaper three kids, and for six months I cloth diapered all three of them at once, so I feel like I have some qualifications.

I never did anything special. I bought whatever detergent was on sale at the supermarket that week. The only one that ever gave us trouble was Tide-- DD1's skin turned red (or it might have been DD2- I can't remember now) so we avoided Tide, but we used just about everything else. I would put everything straight into the pail, off of baby's bum. If there was something solid enough to push off into the toilet I would, but otherwise the poop just went straight into a pail, which was a big rubbermaid kitchen trash can, with a bag in it.