Can't get the poop out! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 08-06-2011, 10:00 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm new to CDing and trying to get a washing routine. I have 6 week old twin boys and we have bumGenius 4.0 pocket diapers. My boys are breastfed with one bottle a day of fortified breastmilk (about 2 oz, so not much at all). I read all over that breastmilk poop is water soluble so just throw the diapers in -- no poop scraping or pre-treating necessary. I did this for the first batch (after 2 days of diapers) and washed with Rockin' Green Hard Rock detergent. We did a cold rinse, no soap, then warm wash with soap, then warm rinse. I still had poop on the pockets! Not stains, but actual poop! So next I scraped off as much poop as I could and tried again, same result. Next I tried hot instead of warm wash with an extra rinse before the wash for a total of four cycles, and I still have poop on the diapers!

I'm not real excited about the idea of a sprayer, and I need a solution for the meanwhile before I could get one anyways. So does anyone have any ideas to get all of the poop out? I found one similar question from 2006 with no real answer, just everyone saying that breastmilk poop is water soluble and it will come out. Apparently my boys have super poop!

TIA!

Mom to Parker and Isaac 6/23/11  familybed2.gifslingtwin.gifcd.gif nocirc.gif

697/2012

#2 of 10 Old 08-06-2011, 10:12 PM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)

I think you need more water.  I am not good with front loaders (I'm just assuming you have one, correct me if I'm wrong!) but check if there are any settings that would allow you to add more water.  I think you can also just dump in a gallon or two of water along with your diapers.

BC Mum of four ('05, '07, '11 and 06/14!)     
#3 of 10 Old 08-06-2011, 11:05 PM - Thread Starter

Nope, top loader and I have the load size set to super. Thanks though

697/2012

#4 of 10 Old 08-07-2011, 08:42 AM