Rashy woes. - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 10-27-2011, 06:34 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I've been struggling with diaper rashes in my son.  We've eliminated a bunch of foods from his diet which has helped a lot, but he still occasionally gets a blistery horrible-looking rash on his penis, testicles, and butt that lingers.  He also just gets a very red, sore area around his genitals and butt (maybe from poop?).  I try to be really good about changing him regularly, but he's so busy that sometimes I don't know when he's wet or poopy.  I give him lots of naked time when we're home, and I have been encouraging the toilet since 6 or 8 months, but he's not interested.  And at night he often sleeps in a wet diaper for hours.  My kids are not good sleepers and I am exhausted, so I don't mess with him when he's sleeping.

So 4 or 5 days ago he woke up with a water blister on the inside of his thigh where his diaper rubs.  I called dh and had him pick up disposable diapers on his way home.  We used those for a few days and everything cleared up nicely.  In the mean time I washed all of our diapers and covers with detergent and bleach (which I never use) and ran them on the sanitize cycle in our washing machine five times in a row.  Then I dried them in the drier on hot.  I packed up all the polyester and microfiber and just used cotton and hemp with covers.  Here we are at the end of day two and he is horribly red and crying when I hold him because his bottom hurts.  (He did have four bms today, so it is possible that it's something he ate, but he was already a little red this morning.)  I had him naked after dinner and slathered him up with cream and put him in a disposable for the night.