First time CD'ing. Totally lost......too many questions and tooo less time....... PLEASE HELP!!!!! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 02-08-2012, 01:09 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello moms, I'm new to this forum and would love to get your expert advice on Cloth Diapering. It's my first attempt towards CD. I barely managed to research about it and convince my husband, and now again I'm lost as to which ones to choose and how many do i need to order initially? I'm due next month and we don't get cloth diapers where we live. So would have to order these online. Keeping these in mind, I would need help making some decisions: 1. From what I've read and from what I've been told, pocket diapers may not work for new borns and would also turn out to be expensive, and are usually recommended for infants 3 months+. Is this correct? I've been recommended to buy BumGenius pocket diapers but not for initial use as these would turn out to be a huge investment. What do you all think? 2. Now that BG pocket diapers might be too expensive for initial use, I've been recommended to buy pre-folds with Thirsties Duo Covers. Would this be a right choice to go with? If yes, then a. how many would I need to buy? (keeping in mind that we would be washing on a daily basis). b. Would this be a good/safe choice to start off with? http://www.diaperjunction.com/econobum-one-size-diaper-kit.html# c. Anyone else used the Econobum Diaper Kit? Any reviews? or do you recommend any other for me to choose? d. Please look at the options on this website, as this is one of the websites that ships international. So don't have many choices of websites to choose from. e. I would need to buy extra inserts and covers for pre-folds in addition to the kit mentioned above. Which inserts should I pick from this website and how many and how do i determine which size to pick? please refer to this link: http://www.diaperjunction.com/cotton-prefold-diapers.html Ap